Back to school

This poem takes me back to school; did you have a teacher like this? or a Derek Drew?

PLEASE MRS BUTLER 

Please Mrs Butler

This boy Derek Drew

Keeps copying mu work, Miss.
What shall I do?

Go and sit in the hall, dear.

Go and sit in the sink.

Take your books on the roof, my lamb.

Do whatever you think.

Please Mrs Butler

This boy Derek Drew

Keeps taking my rubber, Miss.

What shall I do?

Keep it in your hand, dear.

Hide it up your vest.

Swallow it if you like, my love.

Do what you think best.

Please Mrs Butler

This boy Derek Drew

Keeps calling me rude names, Miss.
What shall I do?

Lock yourself in the cupboard, dear.

Run away to sea.

Do whatever you can, my flower.

But don’t ask me!

Allan Ahlberg, 1938 –

 

Please dear blog reader,

I don’t know what to do,

which photo to illustrate this blog post?

I hope this one will do.

 

 

About Seba Silver

In June 2011 my wife and I opened a small store on the beautiful Dalmatian Island of Korcula. Our store (Seba Dizajn) showcases stunning filigree jewellery, all work is made on site offering you the fascinating chance to see filigree jewellery being made. Visit us at www.sebasilver.com to see and purchase some of our filigree jewellery. The Seba family have been working, and creating beautiful pieces of filigree jewellery for over 500 years.
This entry was posted in Thoughtful Thursday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to school

  1. sue says:

    Lovely, that made me giggle this morning

  2. I think the vision of the sea seen through the grasses is an excellent choice.

    I think the young girl married and stayed in the same small town. Derek Drew, on the other hand, had a very adventurous life and travelled widely. 😉

    • Seba Silver says:

      Hi David, thanks so much for that… interesting. Excuse my delayed response, I assume you know I have been away and did not take my ‘on-line life’ with me. Now back in sunny Korcula and looking forward to blogging again and loading some NZ stories. Hope that all is well with you.

Would love to hear your comments and feedback, please leave your comments below.

