Some fires you can’t put out.

This morning I had the pleasure of a brief and lovely ‘chat’ with one of my high school friends, Rachael just happened to be on-line at the same time as me and a few Instant Messages pinged from Croatia – NZ and back again.

Rachael reminded me of poetry and my love for sharing it with my friends.  Just the night before Rachael had stopped by the Cabbage trees on her driveway and thought of me and the Sam Hunt poem below – that I had sent her a copy of many years ago.

I hope you enjoy the poem, which I have included below this image of some cabbage trees taken at Larnach Castle on the Otago Peninsula, NZ.

Cabbage Trees at Larnach Castle

Cabbage Trees at Larnach Castle

Old Flames, Sam Hunt

The cabbage tree was, they said,
dead. There was nothing they
or anyone could do
now or any day –
how sorry they
were, and sad.

But the cabbage tree heard them –
they never noticed
it shaking its head:
it shook so hard
stars were said to have spread
from where the cabbage tree stood:
A blossoming, new constellation across that night sky south.

Someone said just
yesterday,
some fires
you can’t put out.

About Seba Silver

In June 2011 my wife and I opened a small store on the beautiful Dalmatian Island of Korcula. Our store (Seba Dizajn) showcases stunning filigree jewellery, all work is made on site offering you the fascinating chance to see filigree jewellery being made. Visit us at www.sebasilver.com to see and purchase some of our filigree jewellery. The Seba family have been working, and creating beautiful pieces of filigree jewellery for over 500 years.
This entry was posted in New Zeland, Thoughtful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Would love to hear your comments and feedback, please leave your comments below.

